Senior Contemplates What the Future Holds

Scan 27

With the winter break over, the realization that my time at SUNY Oswego will end in 15 weeks is setting in.

I major in journalism at SUNY Oswego with a minor in English and am now embarking on my final semester as a college senior.

So what’s next?

I chose journalism because as an adolescent I was always a good writer, piecing together words to construct an eloquent sentence and receiving A’s on essays.

I liked the idea of a major in the area of communications because I could go anywhere from there. But what attracted me to such a vast area of study is now causing me anxiety in deciding on a career path.

Because the job market is so narrow due to today’s economy and graduate school seems to be a waste of money in my current state of uncertainty, I find myself responding to the question, “What are you going to do next year?” with, “I have no idea.”

Throughout my college career I was always involved with résumé builders such as work with the college TV station WTOP-10 and an internship at Local News, Inc. in Oswego, where I have since become a staff writer. I also maintain part-time jobs and a full-class load.

The sense of stability and always knowing what was expected of me in order to schedule my time has been a reassuring feeling.

Emotional roller coaster

But to venture out on my own in search of a career about which I am still unsure is the most frightening and exciting experience to look forward to and to lose sleep over, all at the same time.

For once in my life, I will not have school assignments to keep me in the library at all hours of the night. I will not have teachers or professors to blame for receiving poor grades. I will not have an academic adviser to help me decide which classes to take for the following semester. For the first time in my life, everything will be up to me.

What I can say for certain is that what I want out of the next step of life is to find a stable writing job to provide myself with a steady income. I want to find a place to call my home. My aspiration was always to move to New York City after college; however, now I feel as though exploring other options is wise. I want to do what I love in a place that I love being. Where and what that may be, I am still unsure.

I was always taught and have always practiced working hard to earn what I want out of life. I believe that policy will help me to land my dream entry-level position.

I am sure that in 2013, I will probably not end up exactly where I want to be, doing what I want to do for the rest of my life.

But with the continuation of working to achieve that goal, I feel that sooner or later I will figure it out and get there.

